Home > Uncategorized > Southerner

Southerner

I’m reading about a snowstorm in the Northeast — power outages, closed schools, teeth-rattling cold, and I’m chilled.

Metaphorically, anyway. Like looking back at old love. Cold and Rust-Belt distant.

Today another husband plays music across the room on his computer. Honest-to-God rock stars. Banging drums and fuzzy guitars vibrate the room. A son of friends makes this wonder.

My miracle nods his head to the beat, his back to me; cats scatter.

Out my window the North Carolina grass is bare and the sun shines in February.

It is not winter at home anymore.

  1. February 9, 2013 at 6:24 pm

    Ola from Ecuador. Not sunny or very warm here at 7,000 but the shopping is great, the hotel is great and I get to spend a week with really knowledgeable gardeners. Life is good. However, if I were home in that teeth-rattling cold, I’d say something snarky, like, nice way to turn the knife, former friend. (Only joking about the former part. Just part of the snark.)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

